You are here

Welcome to the 39th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves

Thank you for Coming!

Download this image.

Download the full MP4 slide show (640mB) here (you will LOVE it!): IRMMW-THz2014 SLIDES (640MB!)



The conference is complete. 

We had 540 participants from 35 countries! Pictures will be posted here for download very soon.

POST Registration will remain open the rest of the week for those who had trouble with on site credit card processing.

(contact Peter Siegel if you have any issues)

We received a total of 670 Abstracts from 34 countries
545 papers will be presented, including 10 Plenary Talks and 60 Keynote Talks

Early & Exhibitor Registration Opens: January 14th, 2014
Abstract submission deadline: April 1st, 2014
Late Abstract deadline: Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Regular Registration Period: April 1st - Aug. 3rd, 2014
Final papers due: July 7th, 2014
Late Registration Begins: August 4th, 2014
Conference: September 14-19th, 2014

Excursions: Friday Afternoon Sept. 19th (through 6PM)



The IRMMW-THz Conference Series

The International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz), is the oldest and largest continuous forum devoted to the science and technology of long-wavelength radiation. The scope of the conference includes all scientific and technological activities from millimeter-waves to the THz regime and on to the far-infrared region of the electromagnetic spectrum. This covers a very wide range of disciplines, encompassing everything from micro- and nano-scale devices and structures to large-scale accelerators and tokamaks and their applications. Presentations at this conference address issues ranging from basic physics, chemistry, electrical engineering and materials science to problems in high frequency circuits and systems, communications, antennas and optics, imaging and spectroscopy, and much, much more.

The conference brings together scientists and technologists from more than 30 countries and typically hosts 600-700 participants. Contributed papers are archived on IEEEXplore, and IEEE is a long term technical co-sponsor of the conference series - currently celebrating 40 years since the first event was held in Atlanta, Georgia in 1974. We want to welcome all the attendees of this very special 40th anniversary conference in Tucson, Arizona. We know you will have a wonderful week.


A Bit of Conference History

Founded in 1974 under the title, International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, today's International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz) continues to grow in scope and stature. The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series - by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) - joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). After 2008, the conference name was shortened to the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX.

On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize, awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves and the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award. The current membership of the IOC can be found here and general information on the conference series - including applications to host the conference, Society By-Laws, nomination procedures for Society prizes and more can be found at the society web page:


Tucson 2014

Since 2000, the IRMMW-THz conference series has alternated between Asia, Europe and America on a continuous three year cycle. At this, our 39th conference, we will be meeting on the campus of the University of Arizona in Tucson, AZ, USA, between September 14th and 19th, 2014. On a special note, the 2014 conference celebrates the 40th anniversary of the very first conference in this series, which was held at Georgia Tech University, Atlanta, GA, USA in June 1974. The conference is organized by a Local Organizing Committee under the auspices of the IOC, and with technical co-sponsorship from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). The location affords easy access to the many exciting sights and experiences of the city of Tucson and the surrounding Sonora Desert.

We look forward to seeing you in Tucson! Make sure to plan your return flight on Saturday the 20th so you can participate in our Friday afternoon excursions on the 19th.


Host Organization

This conference is hosted by the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves and the University of Arizona, with substantial support from colleagues at nearby Arizona State University and the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, CA. The Local Organizing Committee wishes to acknowledge the generous help of the University of Arizona departments of Astronomy and Electrical Engineering and financial support from the Army Research Office.



Contact General Secretary, Hao Xin (, or Peter Siegel (, if you have any specific items to discuss.


Recent News

The conference is over, but we are still available for comments and questions. If you have any, feel free to write to Peter Siegel anytinme. We would love to hear from you!

If you have NOT yet registered, but plan to attend the conference banquet, please send us an email as soon as possible. Seating and bus transport are limited to 550 persons and we are already close to capacity. Thank you.

The names of this year's Best Student Paper/Presentation Award finalists have been posted at: 
The six finalists were selected from 157 applicants. 

Some of the Guest Program Excursions have been changed. The Mirror Lab tour will now be held Monday afternoon and the Kitt Peak Observatory - all day tour - has been moved to Thursday. Please check with the Guest Program coordinator at our registration desk on Sunday to sign up for any or all of the planned outings.

Please register for the conference before leaving for Tucson to avoid lines on Sunday!