You are here

Technical Program

Conference program

The final program book can be downloaded below. It contains the full schedule of presentations, an overview of all sessions, a complete author index, and lots of detailed information about the conference and this year's special events. A print copy will be distributed to all registered attendees in Tucson.

  • 01. Imagers and Imaging Techniques
  • 02. Radar and Active Probing
  • 03. Communications
  • 04. Astronomy and Planetary Science
  • 05. Atmospheric and Earth Science
  • 06. Industrial Applications and Instruments
  • 07. Metrology and Non-Destructive Evaluation
  • 08. Biology and Medical Applications
  • 09. Ultrafast Chemistry and Physics
  • 10. Defense and Security Applications
  • 11. Chemical and Biological Sensing
  • 12. Materials Science
  • 13. Spectroscopy Techniques and Instruments
  • 14. Spectroscopy – Liquids and Solids
  • 15. Spectroscopy – Gas Phase
  • 16. High Power and Nonlinear Phenomena
  • 17. Near-Field Techniques and Instruments
  • 18. Modelling and Analysis Techniques
  • 19. Optics and Quasi-Optics
  • 20. Antennas and Beam Forming Networks
  • 21. Plasmonics
  • 22. Solid State Sources
  • 23. Semiconductor Oscillators and Amplifiers
  • 24. Laser Sources and QCL’s
  • 25. High Power Sources: Gyrotrons
  • 26. Free Electron Lasers
  • 27. Solid-State Detectors and Mixers
  • 28. Superconducting Devices
  • 29. Low Noise Receivers and Amplifiers
  • 30. Photomixers and Photodetectors
  • 31. Photoconductive Antennas
  • 32. Metamaterials and Metadevices
  • 33. Graphene and New Materials
  • 34. New Devices
  • 35. New Instruments
  • 36. New Applications
  • 37. Other (to be specified)
  • 38. Special Session on THz Communications
  • 39. Special Session on Microwaves in Space

Key dates for attendees

First call for papers: January 13th, 2014
Abstract submission deadline: April 1st, 2014 Late Day: April 8, 2014
Notification of Accepted Manuscripts Friday, May 23rd, 2014
Final papers due: July 7th, 2014
Full oral and poster session schedule announced: July 26th
Regular Registration deadline: August 3rd, 2014
Late Registration begins:August 4th
Conference: September 14-19th, 2014


Plenary Speakers

We are pleased to announce the confirmed plenary speakers for IRMMW-THz 2014.

Opening Plenary - Monday September 15:

  • Peter Staecker, 2013 IEEE President

Nobel Prize Lectures (Monday/Tuesday):

  • John Mather, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 2006 Nobel Laureate
  • Serge Haroche,  Collège de France, 2012 Nobel Laureate

Button Prize Lecture (Wednesday):

  • Xi-Cheng Zhang, University of Rochester 

Plenary speakers (in temporal order, Tuesday-Friday):

  • Andrea Neto, Technical University of Delft (Tuesday)
  • Rick Temkin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Wednesday)
  • Richard Saykally, University of California Berkeley (Thursday)
  • Tom Lee, Stanford University (Thursday)
  • Paul Goldsmith, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Friday)
  • Masanori Hangyo, Osaka University (Friday)



Information for presenters

Oral Presenters

All presenters should be present 10 minutes before the start of the session, and should immediately inform the session chair of their arrival. Each oral session room will contain a computer equipped with a projector. Presenters should bring a USB memory-stick with their presentation in MS PowerPoint or PDF format, and should load and preview their presentations before the session starts. The time allocation for talks is as follows:

  • Plenary talk: 45 min (40-min presentation plus 5-min discussion)
  • Keynote Invited talk: 30 min (25-min presentation plus 5-min discussion)
  • Contributed talk: 15 min (12-min presentation plus 3-min discussion)

Poster Presenters

There will be poster sessions on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, in the early evening. Each poster will have a numbered display board. The poster mounting area is 4' by 8'. Materials necessary to mount posters to the display boards will be available. Posters for each evening's poster session should be set up during the afternoon coffee break. Poster presenters should be standing at their posters for the entire duration of the poster session, to facilitate discussion. Posters should be removed by 10:30am the day after the poster session - any posters remaining after that time will be removed by the conference staff, and may be damaged or destroyed in the process.

Note that the international Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves is a publicly accessible open forum event with attendees from many international organizations and locations. Screening of all materials presented or exhibited at the conference, for compliance with US government International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), is the responsibility of the presenter and/or of the presenter's organization.


Information for session presiders

Session chairs should arrive at the session room at least 10 minutes before the start of the session, and should check the attendance of all speakers. Since the first author or corresponding author is not always the speaker, the session chairs should make sure they know who is to be introduced to present the talk. If a speaker is not present, the missing talk should not be filled by moving forward remaining talks in the session, since people may come from other parallel sessions to attend a specific talk. It is very important that the sessions run on schedule.

Session chairs should warn the speakers two minutes before the end of their talks. Please be firm in not permitting speakers to run over their allotted time. In the event that a speaker is not present to make his or her presentation, we ask that the session chair should notify the conference secretary immediately after the session has concluded, so that an accurate record of speaker attendance can be maintained.


Room Location Map


Building Locator Map