You are here


IRMMW-THz 2019 #44 takes place in Paris, France during the week of September 1-6. The local co-Chairs are Prof. Carlo Sitori of the University Denis Diderot, Paris and Prof. Jerome Tignon of UPMC, Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris. The web is now open and registration and abstract submission has begun.

***Call for 2020 Young Scientist Award Nominations***
NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2020 YSA Award ARE DUE BY MAY 15, 2019. A nomination form can be downloaded here and from the PRIZES&AWARDS page.

***Call for 2020 Button Prize Nominations***
NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2020 KJB Award ARE DUE BY APRIL 15, 2019. A nomination form can be downloaded here and from the PRIZES&AWARDS page (see bottom of page).

The request for conference hosting Proposals for 2022 in Europe is now closed.
We received three bids for hosting cities in 2022. No more proposals are being accepted. We will announce the winning committee and location at the banquet during the IRMMW-THz 2019 conference in Paris this coming September.

IRMMW-THz 2018 #43 in Nagoya, Japan is now finished. The full technical program is available here. There were over 800 participants. 

IRMMW-THz 2020 #45 will be held from Sept. 13-18th, 2020 in Buffalo, NY - home of Niagra Falls!! Local Chair: Professor Andrea Markelz, SUNY, Buffalo, NY, USA.

The site for IRMMW-THz 2021 #46 has been chosen as Chengdu, China with tentative dates of Sept. 14-17, 2021. The local Chair will be Professor Shenggang Liu.

The 2019 Kenneth J Button prize went to Professor Dmitri Basov of Columbia University, NY, USA, for "seminal discoveries in quantum material physics through infrared spectroscopy and nano-optics"

The 2019 Young Scientist Award went to Dr. Michael Ruggiero at University of Vermont, Burlington, USA: 

2019 Exceptional Service Award Winner Announced:
The 2019 IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award goes to Professor Martin Koch of Philipps-Universitat MarburgMarburgGermany

We have added a new download section that archives a series of more than 25 articles covering the careers of many of our active Pioneers of THz Science and Technology (at the very bottom of our ABOUT page)


IRMMW-THz Society is granted full non-profit status as a US 501c3 charitable organization!
On June 10, 2016 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was granted full status as a US 501c3 non-profit charitable organization. Donations are now fully tax deductible. Contact the General Secretary if you wish to make a contribution or donate directly at:

At our 2016 meeting in Copenhagen, Denmark the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to institute a Young Scientist Award to recognize outstanding, interdisciplinary scientific work by a young scientist who has made innovative contributions and discoveries in the field of infrared, millimeter, and Terahertz waves.
The Award consists of a cash prize of $2000 and a certificate of recognition of the research achievements of the award recipient. Nominations are now open. An application form is available on PRIZES and AWARDS page.

IEEE has a new THz journal
IEEE Transactions on Terahertz Science and Technology targets the entire THz field with high impact papers. The journal received a Journal Citation Report Impact Factor of 4.35 in 2013. The impact factor places it 12th out of 247 journals in EE, 17th of 136 journals in Applied Physics and 5th out of 88 journals in Optics. The Inaugural issue was released in September 2011 and is available on IEEEXplore.

The International Journal of Infrared and Millimeter Waves has been renamed as:
Journal of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (JIMT) in keeping pace with the conference.

IRMMW-THz Society Formed
On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. On November 5, 2009 the Society received official status as a mutual benefit non-profit organization operating in the state of California, USA under IRS designation 501c4. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee for IRMMW-THz and to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, hosting the international prize committee for the IRMMW-THz Society Kenneth J. Button Prize, and linking technically with the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves and the IEEE Journal of Terahertz Science and Technology. The role statement for the society is: "Promoting the worldwide collection, dissemination and exchange of scientific and technical knowledge in the areas and disciplines involving infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves." A copy of the latest society By-Laws can be requested from Peter Siegel through the CONTACT page on this web site.