The International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves

The International Conference on IRMMW-THz, begun in 1974, is the oldest and largest continuous forum specifically devoted to the field of ultra high frequency electronics and applications.

The scope of the conference extends from millimeter wave devices, components and systems to far-infrared detectors and instruments, and encompasses micro- and nano-scale structures to large-scale accelerators and Tokamaks and their applications. more


  • Our 2024 conference will be number 49 in Perth, Australia 1 – 6 September 2024.
  • Submit your nominations for the 2024 Zhenyi Wang, Young Scientist and Kenneth J Button awards. more

Read more news


The Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves is an international non-profit organization whose purpose is to promote the worldwide collection, dissemination and exchange of scientific and technical knowledge in the areas and disciplines involving infrared, millimeter and terahertz waves.

Activities include, but are not limited to, (1) organizing, overseeing and maintaining the IRMMW-THz conference series, (2) interacting with the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves and the IEEE Transactions on Terhaertz Science and Technology, (3) serving as a distribution agent for the long-standing IRMMW-THz Society Kenneth J. Button Prize, the IRMMW-THz Young Scientist Award, the new Zhenyi Wang Award for Excellence, and the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award. more


Sandwiched between the optical on the short wavelength side and radio on the long wavelength extreme, the Terahertz or Far-Infrared has long been considered the last remaining scientific gap in the electromagnetic spectrum.

Due to the historic role the IRMMW conference has played in bridging this gap by bringing together international researchers in many diverse fields – from space science to nuclear fusion – and recently chemistry and biology, the organizing committees would again like to reach out to scientists in adjacent fields who can benefit from recent developments in the far-IR. more


The International Organizing Committee (IOC) consists of distinguished scientists and technologists from the broader IRMMW-THz community who are nominated and elected to the board to serve a term of six years.

The Committee is guided by a Chair and Vice-Chair who each serve for three years and are nominated and elected by the IOC. The IOC also serve as board members for the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves, a 501c(3) Charitable Corporation, founded in 2009. The Society is managed by a General Secretary who is elected each year by the IOC. more