Welcome to the 45th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves

45th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves

Information for Presenters and Attendees

Link to complete technical program

Exhibitor/Poster Hall Links and Schedule

Follow us on Twitter @irmmwthz2020 and share and tag us using #irmmwthz2020

Join Us for Our Outreach Event SATURDAY NOVEMBER 6, 10 AM EST

REGISTRATION: To take advantage of this opportunity to make the IRMMW-THz conference more accessible to the broader community, registration will be free for attendees who are not presenting.  Register here (You will need to make a profile,  go to registration and then my registrations). All presenters and exhibitors need to register by October 26, 2020.

  • All presentations (oral and poster) are to be presented live (pre recorded video is required before conference to be used in case of connection difficulties).  

Download the updated IRMMW-THz 2020 conference flyer. Click here (pdf)

Conference Chair
Andrea Markelz University at Buffalo, USA

Conference Co-Chair
Erik Einarsson University at Buffalo, USA

Technical Program Chair
Frank Hegmann University of Alberta, Canada

Local Organizing Committee
Priya Banerjee University at Buffalo, USA
John Cerne University at Buffalo, USA
Peter Q. Liu University at Buffalo, USA
Vladimir Mitin University at Buffalo, USA
Tim Thomay University at Buffalo, USA
Martin Trebbin University at Buffalo, USA
Luis Velarde University at Buffalo, USA



The IRMMW-THz Conference Series

The International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz), is the oldest and largest continuous forum devoted to the science and technology of long-wavelength radiation. The scope of the conference includes all scientific and technological activities from millimeter-waves to the THz regime and on to the far-infrared region of the electromagnetic spectrum. This covers a very wide range of disciplines, encompassing everything from micro- and nano-scale devices and structures to large-scale accelerators and tokamaks and their applications. Presentations at this conference address issues ranging from basic physics, chemistry, electrical engineering and materials science to problems in high frequency circuits and systems, communications, antennas and optics, imaging and spectroscopy, and much, much more.

The conference brings together scientists and technologists from more than 30 countries and typically hosts 600-700 participants. Contributed papers are archived on IEEEXplore, and IEEE is a long term technical co-sponsor of the conference series – currently celebrating 40 years since the first event was held in Atlanta, Georgia in 1974. We look forward to seeing you at the 45th anniversary conference in Buffalo, New York. We know you will have a wonderful week.


A Bit of Conference History

Founded in 1974 under the title, International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, today’s International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz) continues to grow in scope and stature. The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series – by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) – joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). After 2008, the conference name was shortened to the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX.

On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize, awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves and the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award. The current membership of the IOC can be found here and general information on the conference series – including applications to host the conference, Society By-Laws, nomination procedures for Society prizes and more can be found at the society web page: www.irmmw-thz.org.


Buffalo 2020 (Virtual Conference)

Since 2000, the IRMMW-THz conference series has alternated between Asia, Europe and America on a continuous three year cycle. Because of Covid-19 travel restrictions and the safety and health of out community, our 45th conference will be held in a virtual format hosted from Buffalo, NY, USA, between November 8th and 13th, 2020.

We look forward to your participation!


Host Organization

This conference is hosted by the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves and the University at Buffalo, with substantial support from colleagues at nearby institutions.