Society Prizes


Professor Emma MacPherson

Warwick University, UK

IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award  

In 2010 the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to institute an annual award honoring Exceptional Service to the Society and the IRMMW-THz Community at large. This award recognizes a single individual who has contributed continuously, and over a long period of time, to the goals of the IRMMW-THz Society and to the expansion of influence and organization of our technical community. The prize consists of a certificate, a compendium of all past IRMMW-THz conference brochures, and a waiver of the registration fee for attendance at the conference for the year in which the award is given. Nominations are open to anyone from the IRMMW-THz community. Winners are selected by vote of the IRMMW-THz International Organizing Committee at the conference which precedes the award. Nominations are open two months prior to the conference, and consist of a nominee name and affiliation and short write up describing the relevant contributions that would warrant receipt of the award (no CV’s or paper lists, please, this is a Community Service award). Nominations should be sent to the IRMMW-THz General Secretary: Peter H. Siegel at Winners will be announced at the IRMMW-THz Conference Banquet each year.

THE 2024 RECIPIENT IS: Professor Emma MacPherson of University of Warwick, UK.

The first (2011) recipient of the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award was Professor Rick Temkin of MIT, USA. His dedication reads:
This compilation of IRMMW conference brochures is dedicated to you, Richard J. Temkin, in grateful recognition of so many years of dedicated service to the conference series, the community which it serves, and the many past, present and future members of the International and Local Organizing Committees. No one in our community has given more and contributed so selflessly to help so many. We are eternally grateful. From your colleagues and friends on the board of the 2010 International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves” 


2023: Professor Xi-Cheng Zhang, University of Rochester, USA
2022: Professor Daniel Mittleman, Brown University, USA 
2021: Professor Xue-Shu Shen, Shanghai Institute of Technology, China
2020: Professor Gun-Sik Park, Seoul National University, South Korea
Professor Martin Koch, Marburg University, Germany
Dr. Gian Piero Gallerano, ENEA-Frascati, Rome, Italy
2017: Professor Manfred Thumm, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
2015: Professor Koji Mizuno, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
2014: Dr. Peter H. Siegel, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
2013: Professor Michael von Ortenberg, Humboldt University, Germany
2012: Professor Terrence Parker, University of Colchester, UK
2011: Professor Rick Temkin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

The IRMMW-THz Conference Best Student Paper Awards

In 2011 the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to implement an annual “Best Student Paper Prize” to recognize original contributions to the conference from outstanding student attendees. The prize is awarded to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place papers through a committee selection and voting process. Each candidate must present his/her paper to the awards review committee at the conference during which the award is presented. Winners are announced at the banquet or at one of the conference Plenary sessions. Entry rules and procedures are posted on the local conference website in advance of the final paper submission deadline. Candidates may submit their entry when they upload their abstract.


The 2023 Student Paper Prize Commitee was Chaired by Dr. Masahiko Tani of Fukui Iniversity, Japan.  The committee selected 6 finalists to present their papers to a special session of its members at the conference in Montreal, Canada.  CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OUR FINALISTS!

WINNERS for 2023 (At IRMMW-THz 2023 in Montreal, Canada):

FIRST PLACE: Josef Freudenstein, “Attoclocking Delocalized Bloch Electrons with Multi-Terahertz Fields”, Th-AM-2

SECOND PLACE: Ahmed Jaber, “Light-matter Coupling Between Organic Molecules and a THz Metasurface”, We-PM2-3

THIRD PLACE: Mirco Kutas, “Quantum Sensing in the Terahertz Frequency Range”, Mo-PM1-1

RUNNER UPS (Alphabetically):

Tomohiro Fujimoto, “Observation ff Terahertz Spin Hall Conductivity Spectrum in Bulk GaAs at Room Temperature”, Mo-PM2-3

Harrison Lees, “Single-Mode Rib Waveguide for the Terahertz Range using 3D Printed Alumina”, We-PM2-4

Huiliang Ou, “Simultaneous Measurement of Orthogonal Terahertz Fields Enabled via a THz MODEM (modulator|demodulator) Scheme”, Tu-PM1-1