You are here

Button Prize

The Committee is pleased to announce the winner of the 2014 Kenneth J. Button Prize: Professor Xi-Cheng Zhang from University of Rochester, who is awarded the prize "for outstanding contributions to the development of THz time-domain spectroscopy and applications."  The prize will be awarded at a special plenary session on Wednesday, Sept. 17th, 2014, at the IRMMW-THz conference in Tucson.



In 1990 an award called "The Infrared and Millimeter Wave Prize", to be awarded "for outstanding contributions to the field of infrared and millimeter waves", was initiated by the Program Council (now known as the International Organizing Committee) and awarded in the first instance to Kenneth J. Button, founder of the conference series. The following year it was agreed by the Program Council to rename the Prize "The Kenneth J Button Prize" in recognition of Ken Button's outstanding contributions to the community, both as a scientist and as the initiator and driving force of this series of conferences. The criterion for awarding the Prize was later changed to its present form: "for outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves". The prize consists of a cash award of $3000, a certificate, and a medal. All are awarded to the winner at the IRMMW-THz conference which follows the selection of a recipient.


Any scientist active in the field of the Conference may make a nomination for the Button Prize. The closing date for receipt of nominations by the IRMMW-THz Kenneth J Button Prize Committee each year will be the same as the deadline for submission of abstracts to the conference, normally about six months before the conference itself. The closing date will be strictly observed. Any nominations received after that date will be carried forward to the following year. Nominations for the 2015 Prize will be due on or before April 1st, 2014. For more information please contact the KJB Prize Committee Chair, Peter H. Siegel.

For instructions on the nomination procedure, please click Prize Nomination Instructions.pdf.


Exceptional Service Award

In 2010 the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to institute an annual award honoring Exceptional Service to the Society and the IRMMW-THz Community at large. This award recognizes a single individual who has contributed continuously, and over a long period of time, to the goals of the IRMMW-THz Society and to the expansion of influence and organization of our technical community. The prize consists of a certificate, a compendium of all past IRMMW-THz conference brochures, and a waiver of the registration fee for attendance at the conference for the year in which the award is given. 


Dr. Peter H. Siegel (Caltech)


2010  Professor Rick Temkin (Massachusetts Institute of Tech.)
2011  Professor Terry Parker (University of Essex)
2012  Professor Michael von Ortenberg (Humboldt University)


Nominations are open to anyone from the IRMMW-THz community. Winners are selected by vote of the IRMMW-THz International Organizing Committee at the conference which precedes the award. Nominations are open two months prior to the conference, and consist of a nominee name and affiliation and short write up describing the relevant contributions that would warrant receipt of the award (no CV's or paper lists, please, this is a Community Service award). Nominations should be sent to the IRMMW-THz General Secretary: Peter H. Siegel at Winners will be announced at the IRMMW-THz Conference Banquet each year.