In 2011, the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to implement an annual Best Student Presentation Award to recognize original contributions to the conference from outstanding student attendees. A cash prize is awarded to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place papers through a committee selection and voting process. During the 2023 submission process, students have the opportunity to sign up for the competition for the Best Student Presentation Award during the conference. If the candidates have more than one submission, they must choose only ONE paper for consideration.

Based on the reviews of all these papers, the Award Committee will select the IRMMW-THz 2023 Best Student Presentation Award finalists. The finalists will present their work to the Student Award Committee in a closed session during the conference. The winner will be announced and the Award presented during the conference banquet.

Selection Process

Candidates may apply for the Award when they upload their conference abstracts. To partecipate to the Best Student Paper Award competition, a TWO-PAGE abstract length is required. If the candidates have more than one submission, they must choose only ONE paper for consideration.

To qualify, candidates must be full time students at the time of abstract submission, and they must have been fully responsible for the work that is being judged. If the student is shortlisted as a finalist, a letter or statement of support will be requested from their advisor that verifies their status as a student and their responsibility for the paper.

The Technical Program Committee will review and rank all the student abstracts. The Award Committee will select the 6 finalists. Each finalist must present his/her paper to the Committee in person at a special award session held during the conference.

The time and location of the presentation will be communicated to the 6 finalists well in advance of the conference. All finalists are expected to attend the conference and make their presentations to the Award Committee in order to qualify for one of the 3 awards.