Conference Program

The International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and THz Waves is a truly multidisciplinary event, which covers wide ranges of Physics and Engineering and consequently attracts the attention of a very diverse audience. The Local Organizing Committee of the 2022 Conference in Delft has recognized early on this multidisciplinary nature and decided to organize the technical program in different thematic topics and one general application topic. Four different Topic Chairs have been identified in

• Prof. Aurèle Adam for Sources & Detectors

• Prof. Britta Redlich for Multi-Physics

• Prof. Jaime Gómez Rivas for Material Science

• Prof. Andrea Neto for Engineering in Systems

Applications are also recognized as a separate Topic so that the audience and presenters that are more interested in the application side of the technology will find an appropriate venue. All Chairs will contribute to the definition of this portion of the program, with the ultimate responsibility of Andrea Neto.

As a consequence the TPC members have been invited to contribute specifically to a specific Topic of competence (despite the fact that many experienced authors have expertise in more Topics), to benefit as much as possible from their specific knowledge in their role as reviewers. To this goal, each Topic is further subdivided in different subtopics to facilitate the submission of papers and selection of the reviewers.

Topic Tracks

Sources & Detectors TPC topic chair: A. Adam
– Electronic sources and detectors – Laser driven sources and detectors – Gyro-oscillators and amplifiers – Nano and quantum devices – Superconductor detectors – Quantum-cascade lasers
Multi-Physics TPC topic chair: B. Redlich
– Free electron lasers and synchrotron radiation – High field THz generation – Spectroscopy – Ultrafast phenomena and non linear phenomena – Plasma studies and diagnostics
Material Science TPC topic chair: J. Gómez Rivas
– Condensed matter – 2D materials – Metamaterials, plasmonics and nanomaterials – Near-field microscopy – THz quantum optics
Engineering in Systems TPC topic chair: A. Neto
– Integrated technology – Passive components – Antenna imaging techniques – Active Sensing: Time-domain and frequency techniques – Passive sensing – Metrology


– Defence & Security

– Telecom & Automotive
– Non-destructive sensing

– Astronomy, Atmospheric and Earth Observation

– Chemistry, Biology & Medicine
– Agri-food

Technical Program Committee

Sources & Detectors

Igal Brener, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Guillermo Carpintero, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Guillaume Ducournau, University of Lille, France
Dmitriy Removich Khokhlov, Moscow State University, Russia
Ullrich R. Pfeiffer, University of Wuppertal, Germany
Sascha Preu, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany
Herbert Zirath, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Jinjun Feng, Vacuum Electronics National Laboratory, China
Mikhail Glyavin, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
John Jelonnek, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Huang Senlin, Peking University, China
József András Fülöp, ELI-ALPS Research Institute, Hungary
Peter Uhd Jepsen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Hiroaki Minamide, RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Japan
Jean François Roux, Université de Savoie Mont-Blanc, France
Clara Saraceno, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Xiaojun Wu, Beihang University, China
Jérôme Faist, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Kazuhiko Hirakawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany
Hartmut G. Roskos, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Giacomo Scalari, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Alessandro Tredicucci, University of Pisa, Italy
Kazuue Fujita, Central Research Laboratory, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K., Japan
Karl Unterrainer, TU Wien, Austria
Netty Honingh, University of Cologne, Germany
Edmund Linfield, University of Leeds, UK
Jochem J. Baselmans, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands Institute for Space Research (SRON), The Netherlands
Jian-Rong Gao, Netherlands Institute for Space Research (SRON), Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Peiheng Wu, Nanjing University, China


Manfred Helm, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, TU Dresden, Germany
Elke Ploenjes, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Germany
Stefano Alberti, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausann (EPFL), Switzerland
Neville C. Luhmann, University of California, Davis, USA
Jos Oomens, FELIX Laboratory, Radboud University, The Netherlands
Chiko Otani, RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Japan
Frank Hegmann, University of Alberta, Canada
Alfred Leitenstorfer, University of Konstanz, Germany
Emma MacPherson, Warwick University, UK
Toshihiko Kiwa, Okayama University, Japan
Andrea Markelz, University at Buffalo, USA
Axel Zeitler, University of Cambridge, UK
Roger A. Lewis, University of Wollongong, Australia
Melanie Schnell, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Germany

Material Science

Taiichi Otsuji, Tohoku University, Japan
Dmitry Turchinovich, Bielefeld University, Germany
Tyler Cocker, Michigan State University, USA
Michael I. Bakunov, University of Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Christelle Kadlec, Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Science, Czech Republic
Gintaras Valušis, Vilnius University, Lithuania
Huabing Wang, Nanjing University, China
Mona Jarrahi, University of California Los Angeles, USA
Wei Xiang Jiang, Southeast University, China
Juliette Mangeney, École Normale Supérieure, France
Marco Rahm, Technical University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
Minah Seo, Korea Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
Masayoshi Tonouchi, Osaka University, Japan
Withawat Withayachumnankul, The University of Adelaide, Australia
François Blanchard, École de Technologie Supérieure, Canada
Daniel M. Mittleman, Brown University, USA
Juncheng Cao, Shanghai Institute of Microsystem and Information Technology, China
Junichiro Kono, Rice University, USA
Christoph Lange, Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany
Carlo Sirtori, École Normale Supérieure, France
Georg von Freymann, Technical University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
Rostislav Mikhaylovskiy, Lancaster University, UK

Engineering in Systems

Peter Haring Bolivar, University of Siegen, Germany
Dejan Filipovic, University of Colorado, USA
Viktor Krozer, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Erio Gandini, European Space Agency, The Netherlands
Lluís Jofre, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Frank E. van Vliet, TNO, The Netherlands
Jan Stake, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Thomas Zwick, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Gian Piero Gallerano, ENEA, Italy
Ramón Gonzalo, Universidad Pública de Navarra, Spain
Erich Grossman, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
Angelo Freni, University of Florence, Italy
Michele Ortolani, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Peter Siegel, California Institute of Technology, USA
Goutam Chattopadhyay, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
Zachary Taylor, Aalto University, Finland
Antonio Clemente, CEA-Leti, France
Mauro Ettorre, University of Rennes 1, France
Thomas Kaiser, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Giorgio Carluccio, NXP Semiconductors, The Netherlands
Marco Spirito, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands