IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award

In 2010 the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to institute an annual award honoring Exceptional Service to the Society and the IRMMW-THz Community at large. This award recognizes a single individual who has contributed continuously, and over a long period of time, to the goals of the IRMMW-THz Society and to the expansion of influence and organization of our technical community. The prize consists of a certificate, a compendium of all past IRMMW-THz conference brochures, and a waiver of the registration fee for attendance at the conference for the year in which the award is given.

2022 Winner

Prof. Daniel M. Mittleman

Brown University, RI, USA

Nominations are open to anyone from the IRMMW-THz community. Winners are selected by vote of the IRMMW-THz International Organizing Committee at the conference which precedes the award. Nominations are open two months prior to the conference, and consist of a nominee name and affiliation and short write up describing the relevant contributions that would warrant receipt of the award (no CV’s or paper lists, please, this is a Community Service award). Nominations should be sent to the IRMMW-THz General Secretary: Peter H. Siegel at Winners will be announced at the IRMMW-THz Conference Banquet each year.

Previous recipients:

2021: Prof. Xue-Shu Shen, Shanghai Institute of Technology, China 2020: Prof. Gun-Sik Park, Seoul National University, South Korea 2019: Prof. Martin Koch, Marburg University, Germany 2018: Dr. Gian Piero Gallerano, ENEA-Frascati, Rome, Italy 2017: Prof. Manfred Thumm, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany 2015: Prof. Koji Mizuno, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan 2014: Dr. Peter H. Siegel, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA 2013: Prof. Michael von Ortenberg, Humboldt University, Germany 2012: Prof. Terrence Parker, University of Colchester, UK 2011: Prof. Rick Temkin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Back to All Awards